top of page

An Interview with a Professional Therapist


Hello everyone! I hope all of you had a wonderful Thanksgiving weekend(for those in the States) and the rest, hope you all had a great weekend! I am sorry it took me so long for posting this interview. My energy doesn't always want to cooperate. I realized she didn't answer all the questions, and I will be doing a series on the different kind of therapies. If there is anything you'd like to know, feel free to ask me. I am hoping to find other professionals to interview as well. If you are one, or know of any who'd be willing to do so, please contact me, here or via facebook. Thank you! I will be posting her link, at the end so you can check her out as well.

Have a great week!

Renee

1: I saw that you are a Therapist. Can you tell us what the differences are between a

Therapist, Psychiatrist, and a Psychologist.

I’m a marriage and family therapist, which means I looks at the world

systematically and view each client as unique. There are so many different kinds of

therapies that we’d be here forever if I went through them all, but I will say that therapy

is a practice where one or more people come together to process the events of life and

make sense of difficult subjects.

A psychiatrist is a physician who specializes in psychiatry, the branch of medicine

devoted to the diagnosis, prevention, study, and treatment of mental disorders.

A psychologist is a mental health professional who evaluates and studies behavior and

mental processes; they can’t give out medication, much like therapists.

2: What kind of therapies are there? I know there is light therapy, and pet therapy.

Maybe you can explain them a little more too, please?

(don't worry, I will tell people to see a doctor first before trying anything)

So there are a lot… I’m not sure if you want to make this it’s own series or what, but it’s

a lot. Do you have anything in particular you want me to touch on? And what’s light

therapy? I’m not sure that’s a certifiable technique.

3:What kind of Depressions and Anxieties are there?(maybe this should have been 2?lol)

In the DSM IV you have Major Depressive Disorder (MDD) and Persistent Depressive

Disorder (PDD). There’s Generalized Anxiety Disorder (GAD) and other diagnosis

depending on the specific trigger for anxiety.

side note not sure how in depth you wanna go. I’m not sure I want to through out jargon

to nonprofessionals, if that makes sense? Do you have specific questions you’d like

answered?

4: How did you decide to become a therapist or why?

(I stole this from my website lol)

I became interested in the therapy field through my work as a sex educator at the

University of South Florida. I enjoyed teaching but quickly realized one on one

conversations with students proved to be more powerful outside of the classroom. So I

began to look for a new direction in the field and discovered the possibility of creating

change through counseling. Thus beginning my passion for therapeutic change. I’ve

always been passionate about helping others, but now I get to join those two worlds

together and create the change I wish to see in the world!

After obtaining my Master’s in Women’s and Gender Studies at the University of South

Florida, I decided to continue my education at Mercer University School of Medicine in

Atlanta by getting my Marriage and Family Therapy degree and sex therapy certification

to help individuals looking to explore their sexuality and help couples regain their

magical spark. I have my LAMFT by the state of Georgia, USA.

Now I teach at Kennesaw State University, do therapy, and write! You can find me at

SamanthaHeuwagen.com

Alright, I’m going to try to answer your question about depression/anxiety being the

same.

Some clients get misdiagnosed by their GP and get the wrong medication, but still have

symptoms. Some people have both depression and anxiety, which is why they have

symptoms that overlap. It’s really a case-by-case basis. The DSM IV clearly outlines both

disorders:

Depression (needs 5 out of 9):

1. Depressed mood or irritable most of the day, nearly every day, as indicated by either

subjective report (e.g., feels sad or empty) or observation made by others (e.g., appears

tearful). 2. Decreased interest or pleasure in most activities, most of each day 3.

Significant weight change (5%) or change in appetite 4. Change in sleep: Insomnia or

hypersomnia 5. Change in activity: Psychomotor agitation or retardation 6. Fatigue or

loss of energy 7. Guilt/worthlessness: Feelings of worthlessness or excessive or

inappropriate guilt 8. Concentration: diminished ability to think or concentrate, or more

indecisiveness

9. Suicidality: Thoughts of death or suicide, or has suicide plan

Anxiety (GAD) can be found here:

https://images.pearsonclinical.com/images/assets/basc-

3/basc3resources/DSM5_DiagnosticCriteria_GeneralizedAnxietyDisorder.pdf

There is some overlap, as you can see, but it’s more on the physical side of symptoms.

The mental dissimilarities are evident.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page